Meet Our Board of Directors

Jeremy Minty, PhD, Co-Founder, President & CEO

Dr. Jeremy Minty is a biotechnology entrepreneur dedicated to addressing the global problems of fossil fuel dependency and climate change. Jeremy co-founded Ecovia Renewables with the mission to develop and commercialize cost-effective routes for producing high-performing biobased ingredients and materials. He earned his undergraduate and doctorate degrees in Chemical Engineering at the University of Michigan under the direction of Dr. Xiaoxia “Nina” Lin.

Xiaoxia (Nina) Lin, PhD, Co-Founder, SAB Chair

Dr. Xiaoxia "Nina" Lin is professor of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering at the University Of Michigan. Dr. Lin's research group focuses on investigating microbial systems, particularly microbial communities, using systems biology and synthetic biology approaches. Her laboratory aims to engineer microorganisms to address critical needs faced by our society such as sustainable biofuel and chemical production. Dr. Lin's work has been published in a wide spectrum of peer-reviewed journals. Her group has been funded by government agencies, including the NSF, NIH, and USDA. She is Co-Founder of Ecovia Renewables and serves as the company's Scientific Advisor. Dr. Lin completed her PhD at Princeton University and her Post-Doc at Harvard Medical School.

Geoff Horst, PhD, Director

Dr. Geoff Horst serves as a board director and corporate advisor to Ecovia Renewables. Dr. Horst currently leads R&D functions for Kemin Industries, a global nutritional ingredient company. Prior to this role, Dr. Horst was a former co-founder of Algal Scientific and first served as its CSO and then CEO. Dr. Horst led Algal Scientific from idea-stage to full-scale commercialization of algal β-glucan from their fermentation-based production process, culminating with an acquisition by Kemin in 2017. Dr. Horst has a PhD from Michigan State University, MS from California State University and a BS from the University of Michigan.

Caroline Drouart, PhD, Director

Dr. Caroline Drouart currently leads the strategy, M&A and communications department of Seppic, a worldwide designer and supplier of specialty ingredients for health and beauty care. She was previously marketing director for the medical devices division of Air Liquide Healthcare. Dr. Drouart has been serving in executive committees since 2009. She has developed skills in M&A, strategy, marketing, digital transformation, communications, and knowledge of the healthcare and beauty personal care markets. Dr. Drouart is an engineer from Ecole Centrale de Paris, and has an M.Phil from the University of Cambridge (U.K.) and a PhD from Université Paris VII.

Meet Our Scientific Advisory Board

Xiaoxia (Nina) Lin, PhD, SAB Chair

See Mrs. Lin’s biography above.

Eleftherios (Terry) Papoutsakis, MS, PhD

Dr. E. Terry Papoutsakis is the Unidel Eugene DuPont Professor at the Dept. of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering and the Dept. of Biological Sciences at the University of Delaware. Dr. Papoutsakis’ group has made important contributions in both microbial and animal-cell biotechnology. He has been recognized by numerous awards, including election to National Academy of Engineering (USA), the 2020 American Society of Microbiology (ASM) Award for Applied and Biotechnological Research, the 2017 American Chemical Society (ACS) E. V. Murphree Award in Industrial and Engineering Chemistry, the 2013 DIC Wang Award for Excellence in Biochemical Engineering, SBE/AIChE (Soc. Biological Eng.; Amer. Institute of Chem. Engineers), the 2012 James E. Bailey Award, SBE/AIChE; election as Fellow of ACS (2011), the 2010 Metabolic Engineering Award, the 2005 Amgen Biochemical Engineering Award, the 2004 Merck Cell Culture Engineering Award & the 2003 Alpha Chi Sigma AIChE Award. He received his BS/MS in Chemical Engineering from the National Technical University of Athens; MS/PhD in Chemical Engineering from Purdue University. He has supervised over 60 PhD, 30 MS, 32 postdoctoral and 70 undergraduate research students, funded by over $40 million in grants from NSF, NIH, DOE, ARPA-E, ONR, ARO & EPA.